This Book is Undoing Me…

20130131-154040.jpg

“I wake to the discontent of life in my skin… To the wrestle to get it all done, the relentless anxiety that I am failing. Always, the failing. I yell at children, fester with bitterness, forget doctor appointments, lose library books, live selfishly, skip prayer, complain, go to bed too late, neglect cleaning the toilets. I live tired. Afraid. Anxious. Weary. Years, I feel it in the veins, the pulsing of ruptured hopes. Would I ever be enough, find enough, do enough? But this morning, I wake wildly want to live (fully).” – Ann Voskamp, One Thousand Gifts

If you are a woman. Please read this book. It is so good. So real. Forcing me to be real. Oh, how I need that. Oh, how we need this message as women, as mamas.

Have you read One Thousand Gifts already? How has the message of living fully in God’s grace affected your life?

4 thoughts on “This Book is Undoing Me…

  1. Thanks for sharing. Funny how the blogging world all seems to be thinking about the same thing at the same time. Just wrote a blog post today about trying to be more “real”. That paragraph you posted from the book is me. So, I will be checking this book out. Now. 🙂

Leave a comment