I love to cook!

I didn’t used to love cooking, until I actually started to do it. I guess that’s the way it goes with most things. When I was single it was hard to get motivated to really cook myself dinner. (Pulling something out of the freezer and throwing it in the oven or microwave hardly qualifies as cooking.) Since getting married two and a half year ago I have been much more motivated to cook for my husband and myself. (Minus the 9 months of morning sickness turned nighttime sickness that inhibited me from touching chicken or spending more than 10 minutes in front of the hot stove.) Now that I have been a stay-at-home mom for a year now, I have come to really enjoy cooking for my little  family. (Although I still do very much enjoy the nights that I don’t have to cook when Nicole and I meal swap.)

I get bored with food really easily and tend to want to make all new recipes for dinner each week. (I get really pin-happy when I’m hungry and my friends are pinning  super yummy looking dinner pictures. You too?) I have recently made a point to put at least one of my tried and true fall-back meals on my weekly meal plan that I make on Sunday nights. So here they are… In no particular order.

My top 5 no fail, but always please dinner recipes.

1. Sausage, Peppers, and Onions all on a Hoagie

sausage-peppers-onions-b.jpg

(Photo and recipe by Simply Recipes)

This is my street food. Do yourself a favor and make this. You can use sweet or spicy Italian sausages to your liking. I always use spicy. I like to sweat when I eat. Pairs well with sweet potato fries.

2. Tamale Pie

Tamale Pie

(Photo and recipe by Simply Recipes)

This is an easy (and cheap!) dinner whose leftovers you will be craving at 10am the following morning. Seriously yum. Trust. (Note: I have never added the raisins. They have always freaked me out in the recipe. Please let me know if you think I’m missing out.)

3. Tandoori Chicken

Tandoori Chicken

(Photo and recipes by Simply Recipes)

If you have never had Tandoori chicken, or Indian food for that matter, then you must try this recipe. I have had a hard time finding a local grocery store that sells the leg quarters, so I usually end up just using a mix of’ legs and thighs. But doesn’t it look so lovely cut that way? I usually pair this with curried naan and cucumber yogurt dip from Trader Joe’s. The yellow rice looks yummy, but I have only made white rice with this dish.

4. Stuffed Bell Peppers

Dad's Stuffed Bell Peppers

(Photo and recipe by Simply Recipes)

What can be better than your vegetables stuffed with meat and carbs? This recipe is so easy. I make it with ground beef or ground turkey, whichever I have on hand at the time. I have always made it with couscous instead of rice. I guess I just prefer the texture.

5. Baked Ziti with Italian Sausage

Baked Ziti

(Photo and recipe by Simply Recipes)

I love Italian Sausage. I didn’t eat it much before meeting my husband, but he loves it so I quickly followed suit. I don’t know why I had let myself miss out all those years. I am a spice girl. I make everything super spicy, then add a bit more just in case it’s not spicy enough. (Sorry baby, this is what keeps you from getting to eat much of mommy and daddy’s food.) This is such an easy meal and makes really great leftovers.

So you would think that I was getting paid by Simply Recipes to advertise her recipe blog, but I’m not. (Yet!)  Her recipes are just that good. I always go to her site first for recipes. I joke that Elise and I have the same taste buds because I have yet to make a recipe of hers that I didn’t enjoy. (Sorry Sister, I don’t think that any of these recipes meet Paleo standards.)

I hope you try out some of my favorite meals and let me know how you like them. But please be gentle with your reviews, these recipes are near and dear to my heart (and taste buds.)

What are your favorite go to meals?

2 thoughts on “I love to cook!

  1. the last one…oh yum!!!!! i like cooking out of campbells cookbook. so easy and yummy. i have lots of recipe books if you’re looking to try something simple.

Leave a Reply

