The Definition of Crazy

Have I mentioned that I love everything Dave Ramsey? I love his radio show, I love his books, I love his common sense, and I love his seven baby steps to getting debt free and financially stable. We are a Dave Ramsey household.

One of the things that he always says on his radio show is that the definition of crazy is repeating the same thing over and over, but expecting different results. I admit that I can sometimes be crazy.

Embarking on these 21 Days to a More Disciplined Life has reminded me of just how crazy I can be sometimes. I have had spurts of getting myself super motivated to get my life and house in order. I go crazy for a few days or even a week, only to crash hard. Those few days are my most productive, on top of it days. I am super proud of all I have done, but it is almost like this too much too fast, working myself to the bone days then give me a permission slip to take the next few days off. My life and household suffer, then the cycle starts all over again.

The truth is that I haven’t formed habits in my daily life that keep myself and my home organized. I try to take on about 25 new habits in one day only to become a sloth the next. Crystal Paine’s book 21 Days to a More Disciplined Life has reminded me that habits are not formed in a day. They take time. When I try to take on more than I can chew in a day, then end up burned out.

Yesterday I focused on implementing one new simple habit. Putting clothes that I remove from myself either back in the closet or in the laundry before they ever hit the floor. So far so good. Seems simple, but I know it will make worlds of difference in the tidiness of my bedroom and bathroom.

Today I focused on implementing one new daily chore. Making my bed and tidying my bedside table in the morning. (At one point I had a long stretch of being really good at this, but I also was trying to implement about a hundred other habits at the same time. Needless to say, I gave up.) I even took the time today to put on a fresh set of sheets from the linen closet. I know it will be much more peaceful when I walk in my room to go to sleep tonight. I am actually looking forward to it. (Maybe I’ll even test it out while baby naps!)

My room seriously feels 80% cleaner now that my bed is made and night stand is tidy. I think I may just pick up one of those books (most likely Jon Acuff’s Quitter because I have been loving reading it and it goes along with Crystal Paine’s book quite nicely) and curl up on top of my freshly made bed.

Discipline definitely brings along his lovely friend peace. And I can live with that.

2 thoughts on “The Definition of Crazy

Leave a Reply

